In the garden. Week 5.

It has been several years since I had a vegetable garden.  I enjoyed it when I had one previously, but life got really busy while I went back to school for my RN degree and then we moved out of the big house on 3 acres.  I completed nursing school several years ago, and we moved one more time, this last time to regular suburban home and lot.  I guess you could say I just sorta moved out of gardening.  In the past 1.5 years I found myself changing careers again.  I left nursing to pursuit hardscape and landscape design for construction business.  Designing landscapes brought me back to gardening.  I spent all of last year changing my own yard (still a work in progress) from what was mostly grass and few hedges to something looking a little more inviting and planned.  So, naturally I started thinking about vegetable gardening again.  I will admit that it was first my husband’s idea, that we put in a vegetable garden.   He knows how much I loved it and he loved the fresh veggies that came out of it.   In addition, I have moved us away from eating non-organic, GMO, and processed foods.  So, 5 weeks ago we broke ground for a raised vegetable bed.

Image

Our lumber is delivered.

Image

Layering compost and soil with newspaper as bottom layer.

Image

I particularly like that these were not only free it is the “Greensheet”.

Image

Raised bed ready for planting.

Image

Initial planting.  I thought this was all I would plant in the bed.  Oh boy, was I wrong!

Image

I have added several more plants to my initial planting.  Merlot grape vine, 3 artichoke plants (which I will move to a bed all their own soon since they take up a lot of space), and lots of scrap vegetables such as lettuce, onions, leeks, and celery.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I love scrap gardening.  Several plants, will re-root.  I planted the carrots, and only one survived.  But I have a lot of green onions growing  from scraps, in a pot on my porch.   I don’t know if the carrot top will actually grow another carrot.  I’ve read that it will and I’ve read that it won’t.  I’ll keep you posted on that.

Image

My container garden is doing well.  I keep adding plants here too.  I have recently battled aphids and white moth larva on my kale.  But other than that, no issues really.  Nothing that a little organic insecticidal soap won’t handle.    I am really looking forward to harvesting vegetables.  It looks like a race between a few cherry tomato plants and my yellow squash as to which one will be ready to pick first.

Now that I have the garden in and going well, I want to get a couple hens.  I miss having hens and the fresh eggs they provided.  I know that I am not supposed to have poultry per our HOA rules.  But I seriously don’t see the issue with a couple hens in a well maintained chicken coop.  Hubby wants to agree with me but he’s really concerned that it will upset neighbors.  I think all he remembers from our past with chickens was the occasional pullet that turned out to be a rooster not a hen, and the subsequent 5am cock-a-doodle-do that occurred.    Yah, that would likely upset a few neighbors.  So, until I break and just come home one day with a couple pullets and a chicken coop, I found an answer to my longing for a couple hens.

Meet Olive

Image

 

Image

and Lola.  So far these girls haven’t disturbed any neighbors and it makes me long for a couple hens even more each time I see them.  I’ve got a serious case of chicken fever which leads to something called, chicken math.  Which is like that saying about potato chips “You can’t have just one.”

 

