Goodbye winter, it was fun, but I’m seeing another season now.

IMG_20140224_140456263

I always welcome winter.  I guess having grown up in South Florida, where it is always summer weather, I am ready for boots, sweaters, gloves, fuzzy hats, and a break from gardening and yard work.   And winter means making and eating lots of yummy soups, stews, and hearty meals.  But at a certain point, enough is enough.   Time to move on winter.

Our weather started warming up, forcing many of my plants to start budding out.  I am a bit of a nerd when it comes to plants.  I could spend, and have, all day working in my yard.  So, as you could guess, spring is, for me, a bit of a gift.  With this change in weather, I have come down with a cold that has also resulted in laryngitis.  My husband loves my new raspy Demi Moore(ish) voice.  I just want to be able to talk at a normal pitch and without pain.    In the last year, I started buying more organic vegetables.  And recently, I added more organic products to my pantry.  This work well with my love of gardening and nature.  And we  get the benefit of eating foods that are not filled with antibiotics, growth hormones, or treated with pesticides.  Last week while shopping at Trader Joe’s, I picked up some raw organic honey.   So, last night when my throat felt so raw that even breathing through my nose, was painful.  This would also induce coughing which caused even more pain.  I remembered the jar of raw honey in the pantry, and all the health benefits of it.  Most important one last night was it’s anti-viral effect, it’s ability to promote healing, soothe sore throats, and quiet a cough.  So, I heated up water in my tea kettle, waited for the hiss of the kettle, and then made a cup of hot tea.  I added 2 teaspoons of the raw honey to it and proceeded to sip it.  It felt wonderful on my throat!  And it worked,  it did reduce the pain and my cough went away.  The only downside was the caffeine at 10pm.  Upside to the caffeine was that I got all the laundry done and I re-watched a Discovery Channel documentary on possible real life mermaids.  Raw honey has loads of health benefits, and it tastes yummy.  But please do not give it to young children, especially babies, as just as pasteurized honey, it may contain botulism toxin.

So, cheers to spring!  Bring on the flowers, the bees who pollinate the flowers, and the beautiful raw honey that bees give us.

